Website Manager

Nor-Gwyn Baseball & Softball

Larry B. Meyers Memorial Coach of the Year

Larry B. Meyers Memorial Coach of the Year Award


In 2004, Nor-Gwyn lost a long-time, dedicated member of its family, Larry B. Meyers. Larry devoted 25 years of his life to Nor-Gwyn touching the lives of thousands of children in our community as a coach, manager, board member, and officer. Larry served as president of the former Gwyn-Nor Youth Baseball organization and as both Field Director and Treasurer of Nor-Gwyn for many years. Larry was inducted into the Nor-Gwyn Hall of Fame in 2001. To memorialize Larry’s contributions to our community, and especially his 20+ years of successful coaching at all levels, the Nor-Gwyn Board of Directors instituted a Coach of the Year Award in his name beginning in 2005. Each year, the Nor-Gwyn board will select, from among nominations, a single coach across all Nor-Gwyn programs who best exemplifies the coaching philosophies of Larry Meyers and the Nor-Gwyn organization, whose dedication to the players and the program is unparalleled among their peers, and who puts the best interest of the players and the organization first.

Award Criteria:

  • Regular season, active coaches of any Nor-Gwyn team

  • Coaches in any Nor-Gwyn league or program are eligible, except Fall Baseball

  • Both team managers and assistant coaches are eligible

  • Coaching must be for the same year as the nomination

Nomination Process:

Any Nor-Gwyn coach, player, parent, or citizen of the community can nominate a candidate for Coach of the Year by submitting a letter that includes the following information:

  • Full name of the candidate

  • Program and League coached (e.g., Youth Baseball Minors, Softball Majors, Connie Mack C, etc.)

  • Name of the team coached (e.g., sponsor name)

  • Specific reasons why the candidate is being nominated (e.g., accomplishments and achievements)

  • Specific examples of situations that demonstrate why the candidate should be consideration for the award

  • Name, address, telephone number, and signature of the person submitting the nomination

  • Current date

Completed letters must be either e-mailed or mailed by June 30.  Emails should be sent to [email protected], (please type "Coach of the Year" in the subject line).  Typed or neatly hand-written letters should be mailed to the following address by no later than June 30 of the year of nomination:

Nor-Gwyn Baseball & Softball

Larry B. Meyers Coach of the Year Award Committee

P.O. Box 1397

North Wales, PA 19454

Past Recipients:

Year of Award Recipient


2005 Stephen Depman

Youth Baseball - Minor League

2006 Steven Cameron

Youth Baseball - Minor League

2007 Chuck Magee

Youth Baseball - Major League

2008 Brian Durkin

Youth Baseball - Pony League

2009 Kelly Houlihan

Softball - Minor League

2010 Rob Manus

Youth Baseball - Minor League

2011 Jim Rittenhouse

Co-Ed T-Ball League

2012 John Clayton
Youth Baseball - Major League
2013 Dan Wszolek
Youth Baseball - Minor League
2014 Ryan Agriss
Youth Baseball - Major League
2015 Ed Hill
Youth Baseball - Pony League
 2016No Award
 2017Jon Stahl
 Youth Baseball - Minors & Pony Leagues